People

Meet Our Team

Leighton Core 
Associate Professor

Leighton is an Associate Professor in Molecular and Cell Biology, Institute of Systems Genomics. His lab uses genomic to study basic mechanisms of gene regulation and how they change during development or disease progression.

leighton <dot> core <at> uconn <dot>edu        @leightoncore

 

Graduate Students

Luke Wojenski

Graduate Student

luke.wojenski@uconn.edu

 

Geno Villafano

Graduate Student

geno.villafano@uconn.edu

Ryan S. Drennan

Graduate Student

Ryan.drennan@uconn.edu

 

Derek Svendsen

Graduate Student

derek.svendsen@uconn.edu

 

Samantha C. Peterson

Graduate Student

Readthrough transcripts are produced when RNA polymerase continues transcribing beyond the normal termination site. Transcription readthrough is capable of remodeling genome architecture by RNA polymerase displacing boundary elements. Both of these effects can alter gene expression, and they have been observed in cancer and viral infection. Sam is interested in readthrough transcription and genome architecture in human cells infected with oncogenic viruses.

samantha.c.peterson@uconn.edu

 

Anthony Luzzi

Master's Student

Anthony was a UConn MCB major with a minor in chemistry, is currently a Master's student, and is pursuing a career in genetic research.

anthony.luzzi@uconn.edu

Graduate Alumni

Pariksheet Nanda

Graduate Student

pariksheet.nanda@uconn.edu

 

Lauren Wainman

Graduate Student

lauren.wainman@uconn.edu

 

chris

Chris Kuhlberg

Graduate Researcher

christopher.kuhlberg@uconn.edu

Undergraduate Alumni

Roshni Mehta

Undergraduate Researcher

Roshni Mehta is a senior STEM Scholar in the honors program and is pursuing an MCB and French dual degree. She joined the lab in 2018 and has since been studying altered gene transcription and termination. She is a recipient of a Holster Scholar (2019) and Surf Scholar (2020) award.

roshni.mehta@uconn.edu

Eman Ahmed

Undergraduate Researcher

 

jonathan the husky mascotJulia Quinn

Undergraduate Researcher

Julia Quinn is a senior STEM Scholar in UConn's honors program.

julia.quinn@uconn.edu

Emilie Karovic

Undergraduate Researcher

Emilie is a senior STEM Scholar in the honors program. She is a Molecular & Cell Biology and Psychological Sciences double major. She is interested in RNA splicing mutations in chronic lymphocytic leukemia. Emilie plans to attend graduate school and pursue a career in molecular biology.

emilie.karovic@uconn.edu

Helen Bian

Undergraduate Researcher

 

Deivydas Gierdimas

Undergraduate Researcher

 

Himakshi Bhatt

Himakshi Bhatt

Undergraduate Researcher

 

alexis

Alexis Dzubiek

Undergraduate Researcher

adrianna

Adrianna Zawodniak

Undergraduate Researcher

 

manali

Manali Phadke

Undergraduate Researcher

 

mary

Mary Accurso

Undergraduate Researcher

 

katherine

Kathryn McLean

Research Assistant

kathryn.mclean@uconn.edu

 

16111711_1224268647656277_1478589060_n

Brandon Luxkaranaygam

Undergraduate Researcher

 

jonathan the husky mascot

Lital Ben Naim

Research Assistant

 

List of People
 NameTitleEmailPhone
jonathan the husky mascotJonthan the HuskyMascot, University of Connecticut
aaaaaaaa@uconn.edu(860) 000‑0000